Testimony of Christ

On a beautiful fall day, a child came to this earth to begin her mortal journey, coming to gain all types of experiences of her own. This little girl was me, Anita. I was born of loving parents. They taught me the value of the gospel, hard work, and unconditional love. As most of you know, you may be taught the gospel, but you will have the opportunity to gain your own testimony of the gospel through those experiences that you have. I was no different. I was raised in the mission field in Daytona Beach, Florida, where I was exposed to many different beliefs, which I believe was a good thing. We had family prayer twice a day, Family Home Evening every Monday night, Relief Society on Tuesday, MIA (young women) on Wednesday, Primary on Thursday, school activities on Friday, and on Saturday we had church activities. Sunday was a day of worship, twice a day. We were never allowed outside to play on that day. We never had a big meal on Sunday. We always seemed to have peanut butter and jelly with potato chips for dinner. My mom cooked our big meal on Saturday night. As you can see, our days were filled with great opportunities. We were taught at an early age to choose between the good, better, and best. I loved my youth and the firm foundation it laid for my future. I flew out to BYU the week I graduated from high school and found myself away from my family for the first time in my life. That is where I truly believe my testimony grew. I then got married and found myself slipping away from the church, yet I always knew the gospel was true. I wanted to raise my three children the same way I had been raised. I wanted them to know about our Savior’s love and atoning sacrifice. I wanted them to know that things never needed to be hopeless and that there was always someone who loved them. I know that Christ loves me and knows what is going on in my life. I know that the experiences I have are for my own good and will make me a stronger person, drawing me closer to my Savior and giving me empathy towards others. I know that this is Christ’s church. He is the head, the leader, and oversees what is going on. I know that he atoned for my sins and he loves me no matter what. I know that we have a loving Heavenly Father who also knows me and loves me. Joseph Smith was a true prophet of the restoration. He translated the Book of Mormon. This book was written for our day; it was written for us. It is another testament of Jesus Christ.  We have a living prophet, Thomas S. Monson, who leads and guides us. This life is for us to prove ourselves so we may return home to our loving Heavenly Father. I love the statement that we are spiritual beings having an earthly experience, not earthly beings having a spiritual experience. We will have the opportunity to return home and stand face to face with our Lord and redeemer, Jesus Christ. He loves us and wants us to be happy. These things I say in the name of Jesus Christ Amen

-Anita Hill

Leave a Reply

