Sabbath Story

I was 12 years old and had just obtained my small-game hunting license.  I was so excited to go hunting ring neck pheasants with my father, brother, and cousins.  We hunted all Saturday morning and evening. Many pheasants were taken, but I had not been able to shoot my first pheasant.  Sunday morning came, and I went out to feed the horses.  There in our field was a big rooster pheasant.  I ran and got my shotgun.  As I got ready to harvest my first pheasant, the thought that came to me was “This is the Sabbath Day and our family does not hunt on Sunday!”  I went back in the house and put my shot gun away. Even though I wanted to shoot my first ring neck pheasant, I knew I had made the right choice to observe the Sabbath by not hunting.

-Bishop Troy Jorgensen

Leave a Reply

