Elder Jessee – Jan 2017

Mission Office 29 Wiryeseong-daero 22-gil (Ogeum-dong) Songpa-gu Seoul-teukbyeolsi 05655 South Korea

This week we had 3 investigator lessons! Unfortunately 2 of them didn’t show up … which is alright because we could always call them again right? Nope blocked our number too. Weird, I thought they were super interested, but there is always that anti-mormon literature online that tears apart even the strongest of members.

The 1 investigator lesson we had this week, we asked him if he wanted to be baptized. He has been through several missionaries, an investigator for 2 years but he said that maybe in March … Tonight we have a lesson with a former investigator who about a year ago had a baptismal date. Not sure why he didn’t want to be baptized but can’t wait to meet him. He knows some English too!!

This week try a little harder to be a little better. Try a little harder to share the message of Christ that has brought our family so much happiness. First Christmas away from home is a difficult and strange thing, however I still feel close to all of you.

Also one more story I forgot to mention from yesterday! So it was about 8 at night and we were proselyting. I saw a bunch of 19 year olds playing basketball and one kid sitting on the bench. I went over to talk to him, He said he was 18 and he went to another Christian church, however his family was Buddhist. So I asked for his number, and gave him a BOM and talked a little about our church and then the game was over. There were about 8 kids who just finished playing, so I said hello and challenged the best player to a game of 1 on 1. The game was to 3 and he was beating me 2-0 but I started playing real and posted him up and put a few moves on him and then the game was tied 2-2. It was my ball again (Mind you I was in a suit playing). I went behind my back, in between my legs crossed him up and slapped backboard for a layup and yes Cole I did it in my Doc Martins … watch out when I get back I am taking you down. The kid’s friends who were watching went crazy! They asked me my age and I said 19 even though I’m 18 (because Korean age is 1 year older than American age) and they went crazy again. When you are born in Korea you are 1 years old. They thought I was 26. Then I told the kid that I gave the BOM to that I would call him on Wednesday and he felt pretty special. Hopefully he is open to our message. It was a fun experience!

Leave a Reply

