Not Room Enough to Receive

“Bring ye all the tithes into the storehouse, that there may be meat in mine house, and prove me now herewith, saith the LORD of hosts, if I will not open you the windows of heaven, and pour you out a blessing, that there shall not be room enough to receive it.”  (Malachi 3:10)

I really like the idea of giving my tithing without knowing exactly where the money will go because I trust our church leaders to disseminate it to the right people and places.  I also am always interested and excited to see how the blessings will manifest, even though I do think a lot of those blessings aren’t always recognizable as related to tithing. I’ve had a lot of blessings come my way—and I definitely to attribute those to tithing. I’m not sure who said this, but I have always appreciated the saying, “You pay your tithing with faith, not with money.”

At one point when I was living in Spring City after my divorce, money was really tight.  One day, there was a knock on the door. My bishop was there w/ several bags full of freshly butchered and wrapped pork and beef. He was a farmer and had just butchered those animals. He asked if I could use the meat. “YES!” was my answer. The funny part was that I literally did not have “enough room to receive it”! (Malachi 3:10).  There was A LOT of meat, and I only had a tiny freezer—I had to get several different neighbors to store some of it in their freezers until I could use it, and there was plenty to share that bounty with them, too. I used that experience as an object lesson w/ my children about tithing and the promises of that wonderful scripture from Malachi.

Another time, when I had moved to a different house and the bishopric had shifted to a new bishop and counselors, I was going through a really hard time (both financially and physically). One day, just minutes after I’d been on my knees and had offered up a big prayer about my situation, there was a knock on my front door. When I opened it, the entire bishopric was standing on my front porch! I thought to myself, “Thanks, God, for sending out the whole brigade!” They had been driving around the neighborhood, with freshly butchered and wrapped beef from a cow that had been donated to the ward. They had been seeking inspiration from the Lord inspiration as to who could use the blessing, and they felt moved to come to my house. They asked me if I wanted the meat, and of course I said “Yes!” They also gave me a beautiful Priesthood blessing before they left, and that helped tremendously with my physical condition.

These two examples may seem to be only temporal ways in which I have been blessed, but the truth is, both experiences strengthened my faith and also my testimony of tithing.

-Alyssa Wolf

Leave a Reply

