Service

March will be a busy month for the Mount Pleasant 4th Ward.  On March 12th, we will have Ward Conference.  On March 17th-18th the youth are invited to attend Youth Conference, which will be held at Aspen Grove near Sundance.  I’m excited for these events, for an opportunity to strengthen each other.  For the blessings that come when we invite the spirit into our lives.  I’m grateful for all the people that sacrifice their time and talents in service to other members of the ward.  I’m grateful for the love that I feel from everyone in the ward.

The theme for Sacrament Meeting this month is Charity.  One of the greatest blessings of my calling is that I get to see many little acts of charity between ward members.  A couple of weeks ago, a member of the ward gave me a bunch of ground beef to distribute to families that could use it.  What a great night that was, I absolutely loved being the messenger and seeing how this act of charity was able to positively impact so many people.  The spirit of charity instantly invited the Holy Ghost into the lives and homes of the families that were visited.

I love seeing how a compassionate home or visiting teacher impacts positively the lives of ward members.  It is common to see the love of a primary teacher, a scout leader, or a young women’s leader impact positively the youth in our ward.  To me, these small acts is what makes all the difference in the world.  These small acts of charity, where nothing is expected in return, make Mount Pleasant a great place to live.  I’m grateful for the Savior and his influence in the lives of all of the members of the 4th Ward.  I’m grateful for the kindness we show each other.  I’m grateful for the restored gospel of Jesus Christ.  For knowledge that there is a living prophet on the earth today.  I’m grateful for continual revelation, for the knowledge that families are together forever, for the priesthood power, and this month I’m particularly grateful for the principle of charity.

Bishop Applegarth

Leave a Reply

