Bishop’s thoughts on The Atonement

For me, April is a good time to reflect on the Atonement of Jesus Christ.  As winter’s grasp starts to give way to spring and the flowers begin to poke their head out of the soil and the grass starts to green up, it is a great reminder of how the atonement works in our lives.  Just like winter gives way to spring, sadness can give way to happiness, despair can become hope, hate can turn to love, and pain can become joy.  Spring rejuvenates my soul and is an amazing time of year.

Starting on Palm Sunday, I try and follow the last week of the Saviors life day by day.  It is interesting to see what events transpire each day, with the most important events happening on Friday before Easter with the atonement and of course Easter Sunday with the resurrection.  I encourage each member of the Mount Pleasant fourth ward to study the Saviors last week during the Easter season.  It is a great opportunity to get a little closer to our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.

I want each of you to know that I believe Jesus Christ died for each of us.  He conquered spiritual death in the Garden of Gethsemane when he took each of our sins and beat them.  I cannot even pretend to comprehend how the atonement works, I only know that it works.  Can you imagine a life without sin?  Someday, we will experience this all because of the atonement.  Jesus Christ conquered physical death for us on Easter Sunday when he was resurrected with a perfect immortal body.  Can you imagine what our perfect immortal bodies will be like?  No sickness or disease, no need to find the cure to cancer or worry about your blood pressure.  What greater gift can be given then conquering these two deaths?

I love my Savior and hope that in some small way I can emulate some of his qualities.  I hope I can make Mount Pleasant just a little better.  Thanks for each of you and your support.  Have a Happy Easter season.

Bishop Applegarth

Leave a Reply

