Memories of the Atonement

I grew up in upstate New York. Occasionally during the winter we would have ice storms. Everything would be coated with a thick layer of ice. The year when I was in kindergarten or first grade, we had one of those storms. The school bus dropped me off at the end of our driveway. Our driveway was a fairly steep hill. I tried to walk up the driveway to the house, but every time I did I slipped on the ice and slid back down.  It didn’t take long for me to become frustrated and scared. I didn’t think I would ever get to the house. My older brother came to my rescue.  He knew if he stayed where the snow was deep he could break through the ice crust and get where he wanted to go. He scooped me up and carried me to the house. To me, this is a lot like the atonement. We all have things in life that we can’t handle by ourselves – sin, grief, pain, etc. – and our Savior, (our big brother) is there to help. He carries us over and helps us through the things we can’t navigate by ourselves.

Pam Allen

SnowHill

My testimony of the Atonement was strengthened and solidified as I studied my scriptures and was able to bear testimony of the purpose of the Atonement on my mission. I acquired a picture which is now inside the front cover of my scriptures. It is of the Savior standing by a door without a handle. This has brought many thoughts to my mind. First, the Savior is standing at our door, but if we fail to open the door at His knock He will not be able to help us. I testify that the Savior will never leave our door.  He will always be there; it is our responsibility to invite Him into our life. The Atonement is the same. The Savior has paid the price for you and me. We need to make the Atonement effective in our lives by inviting Him in and applying those principles of the Atonement. The Atonement is not only for our wrongs, but for the wrongs people commit against us, and for every pain and suffering we may have. It is truly a blessing to have a loving Heavenly Father and our Savior, Jesus Christ, to turn to and always know that they are there to help us and comfort us in any trial we may face.

Kevin Allen

jesus-at-the-door

Leave a Reply

