Elder Talbot – June 2017

Elder Talbot Trinidad Port of Spain Mission Office Address PO Bag 543 Valsayn Trinidad and Tobago

So this week has been so insanely crazy and has been soooo busy!! We moved apartments from “the Tree House” to “the Pink Palace”! It is the cutest place in all of Guyana, haha. We moved on Thursday and Friday so those days nothing really happened, but then on Saturday we worked the new area. I am still with Elder Hanks and we live in the village called Bath. It is so nice, and we have met a lot of really nice people. It is so cool, and there is a lot going on. We have been having lots of crazy things happen and I am glad I don’t have a problem living with other creatures because we live with lots of them.

Tuesday and Thursday was a lot of working, teaching, and meeting as many people as possible. We worked on that, and are really trying to help people understand that this church can help them with whatever they are going through. I really don’t know how these people live the way that they do. It is so hard to relate to them and help them understand.

I miss you so much and love you so much and want you to know that if you pray for me just know that I pray for you because who you are matters to me – and especially you matter to me more than anything. The people you love and the people you come to love are in your memory and in your heart forever and you are always on my mind and in my heart!

Week of May 1st

This week has been super long and has had lots to do with shoes. We have been walking so much it is crazy. We have been contacting people all week and we have been working on trying to start off this new area right! Bath is such a blessing and the people are so great! We are teaching these girls and they are super interested – and even more so now that they came to church!! That never happens. They showed up really late, but it was better than nothing – so it was all cool. We talked to them after church was all over and they said that was the best service they have ever been to, and will most definitely be back on the next Sunday – haha. We walked and walked and walked. To explain how much I have put huge holes in my shoes. It is the best thing ever to be able to say that I used my shoes all up – haha, it is so great!!!!

I do believe that you get to know a person best by the way they take care of their shoes. I miss you all so much and can’t wait to hear from you as well. Keep looking up when things get hard. Sometimes it is hard to look up when it is raining but it is worth it when you see how much God really does love you!!!

Week of May 8th

This week has been pretty interesting and fun. I really have had some cool stuff happen, and we sadly only had a few people at church – though it was a lot more than usual. We had 67 so we are improving. The best part of this week was with branch President Narine. He came with us on Saturday and we saw a lot of members and investigators. We had some really good lessons and they were very spiritual. We then got a lot of support from him on Sunday as we tried to work and get as many people as possible at church!!!

I really wanted to share a scripture today. Helaman 5:12 “And now, my sons, remember, remember that it is upon the rock of our Redeemer, who is Christ, the Son of God, that ye must build your foundation; that when the devil shall send forth his mighty winds, yea, his shafts in the whirlwind, yea, when all his hail and his mighty storm shall beat upon you, it shall have no power over you to drag you down to the gulf of misery and endless wo, because of the rock upon which ye are built, which is a sure foundation, a foundation whereon if men build they cannot fall.”

Basically if you build a strong foundation on Christ the devil and his mighty whirlwinds won’t be able to knock you down! The way that you build on this foundation is through the various primary answers 🙂  Prayer, Scripture Study, and attending Church! Keep building on that foundation!

Week of May 22nd

Today we had a zone conference on Temples and I want to go back so bad, but it is getting me ready for the future and when I can go one day with my future wife (if there is one, I hope!). BUT I HOPE YOU GO TO THE TEMPLE!! I encourage you go TODAY, if possible, and know that we do the things in the temple for a reason. I hope that you study where things come from and why they are there. When I see you again I would love to talk to you about it – but I don’t have a lot of time. I love you soo soo much and can’t wait to see your stories!!! The next time you go to the temple I want you to take a picture of you putting your hand on the temple and send it to me. It has to happen because I love to see that and because you can feel the power that comes from the temple by even just touching it!!

Week of May 30th

Leave a Reply

